Isiala Adeleke: 20 aspirants battle for vacant seat, as INEC fix July 8 for by-election to replace the late Senator

Isiala Adeleke

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has fixed July 8, to conduct the by-election to fill the Osun West Senatorial District vacant seat at the upper legislative chamber. This was contained in a notice made public on Monday and signed by the Administrative Secretary of INEC in Osun State, Ademusire E.A.

“Consequent upon the provisions of the enabling statutes that bye-elections to fill the declared vacant seat by the National Assembly be conducted within 30 days upon the declaration, take notice that by the directives of the Chairman, Independent National Electoral Commission, Bye Election for Osun West Senatorial seat will hold on Saturday 8th July 2017,” it read.

According to the timetable, June 15 would be the last day for submission of form; June 22, last day for publication of form, June 30 for submission of names and addresses of party agents and July 6, the last day for campaign by political parties.

Following the demise of the late senator representing Osun West Senatorial district, Isiaka Adeleke, and the subsequent declaration of his seat vacant by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), no fewer than 20 aspirants have expressed interest to occupy the vacant seat.

The scramble for the vacant seat became more pronounced as the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) fixed the by-election for Saturday, July 8, 2017.

Meanwhile, it was gathered that politicians who are jostling for the seat within the ruling All Progressive Congress (APC), as well as Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), include, the ex-officio of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) Hon. Akintola Omolaoye, the State Secretary of APC, Ayobami Salinsile, the younger brother to the late Senator Isiaka Adeleke, Ademola Adeleke, Alhaji Tiamiyu Bello, Mr. Tijani Adekilekun and Alhaji Sule Alao for the APC.

Those who are contesting under the umbrella of the PDP are former speaker of Osun State House of Assembly, Hon. Adejare Bello, Hon. Bamidele Sallam, Hon Ajibade Falade, senator Olasunkanmi Akinlabi, retired Colonel Olayiwola Falabi among others.

Meanwhile, there are diverse opinions among the APC members in the ten local governments that constitute the senatorial district.

While some are making case for Adeleke’s family, clamouring for retention of the ticket in Ede, the late senator’s home town, to compensate the Adeleke’s family and his kinsmen, others are of the opinion that the contest for the seat within the party should be thrown open for everyone.


It is against this backdrop that the party leadership in the state set up a committee at the instance of the chairman of the party in the state, Prince Adegboyega Famodun, to come up with the option that will be in the best interest of the party and the people of the senatorial district.



Previous articleArmy University to take off in September – COAS
Next articleJewish prophet reveals how Biafra will be achieved, what will happen to Nnamdi Kanu (VIDEO)
Statereporters is a media power house focusing on the daily happenings around the world, in politics, business, sports entertainment and more. We are not for any section or region. Our reports are based on honesty and integrity not minding the body or persons involved in as much as Nigeria is concerned. For humanity, we shall stand in defense of what is right and appropriate at all cost. Should you have any article feel free and welcomed to send it to us for publication via